freakonomics podcast reviews


Freakonomics… I truly, genuinely miss the “Tell Me Something I Don’t Know” shows. Freakonomics Radio Stitcher Documentary 4.7 • 1.4K Ratings; Listen on Apple Podcasts. 4.5 • 23.4K Ratings. 4.6 out of 5. Please follow and like us: PODCASTS. Dubner is a neoliberal capitalist who champions the racist establishment, I’ve listened to Freakonomics for years now and used to think they were interesting, but throughout the pandemic certain things have become clearer and I’ve changed my mind on a lot of things. I’ll sum my complaint up by saying this... anyone can literally find an expert to say anything. Each week, Freakonomics Radio tells you things you always thought you knew (but didn’t) and things you never thought you wanted to know (but do) — from the economics of sleep to how to become great at just about anything. ... Sponsors - 1 eBooks - 1 Music - 1 News. Start your review of Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything. Read honest and unbiased product reviews from our users. For giving me more information on Tony Shae (I don’t know how it’s spelled). I'd heard the academic's party piece before, on Radio 4, I think: it involves playing Another One Bites the Dust backwards and then informing the listener that the gibberish actually says something intelligible (and – ooh – a bit naughty). With Stephen Dubner and , 505 episodes, 97 ratings & reviews. Review by lauren ★ 2. this is an awful documentary, james ransone is just hot. I cannot overstate how good the Freakonomics universe is. True, but its also true, as mayor Bloomberg has pointed out, that 40k families pay 50% of all the taxes. The academic waffled on about how we all assume other people's perspective will match our own. Tony Hsieh, the longtime C.E.O. Discover the hidden side of everything with Stephen J. Dubner, co-author of the Freakonomics books. Each week, Freakonomics Radio tells you things you always thought you knew (but didn’t) and things you never thought you wanted to know (but do) — from the … With Stephen Dubner and , 486 episodes, 92 ratings & reviews.Discover the hidden side of everything with Stephen J. Dubner, co-author of the Freakonomics books. Income taxes alone come nowhere close to funding them. Discover the hidden side of everything with Stephen J. Dubner, co-author of the Freakonomics books. The uneven political slant has led this show to the bottom of the valley. At the same time, these mentioned individuals, as well as millions who are unknown to the public, are proof that one may attain high levels of achievement and status in this country, and, that by doing so, will have achieved that level on a global basis. However, I can no long take it. Fan reviews of the Freakonomics Radio podcast. Also, that in 2003, three people in Mexico died "of acne". Mary Barra, the C.E.O. Freakonomics Radio Stitcher Documentary 4.6 • 2.7K Ratings; Listen on Apple Podcasts. October 21, 2020 • As beloved and familiar as they are, we rarely stop to consider life from the dog's point of view. Find helpful customer reviews and review ratings for Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything (P.S.) You guys need to figure out what impact COVID will have on the social security trust fund. I’d wager not, given that consumption taxes disproportionately impact the poor. If a hefty new tax on breakfast croissants suddenly jacks prices up to $100 for each buttery half-moon, people will purchase more muffins. And all the nicknames are taken. Listen to Freakonomics Radio, read its reviews and see all its charts on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, and more. Need to have a good informative episode about economics related to Covid. Discover the hidden side of everything with Stephen J. Dubner, co-author of the Freakonomics books. Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything is the debut non-fiction book by University of Chicago economist Steven Levitt and New York Times journalist Stephen J. Dubner.Published on April 12, 2005, by William Morrow, the book has been described as melding pop culture with economics. I enjoy listening to some interesting points, but it nearly always presented with a left bias. I feel similarly about his books. Freakonomics Radio. After the Glass Ceiling, a Glass Cliff Freakonomics Radio Stephen J. Dubner et al. Has both good and bad episodes. Read CaptDan805's review of Freakonomics Radio podcast on Chartable. With James Ransone, Tempestt Bledsoe, Morgan Spurlock, Melvin Van Peebles. I think the upcoming election is intensifying your bias. Iâ m a has-been teacher and a still-am Corporate Learning Specialist, with an interest in any number of quality podcasts, both still running and defunct. It's hosted by the QI "elves", the minions who do all the research so that Stephen Fry can read out their work from a cue card and look clever. If you are fortunate enough to be sitting on an enormous oil reserve (again, e.g. Customer Reviews … 4.6 • 1.7K Ratings. Hard to talk about any of the issues that are affecting ours lives unless you look at the driving forces. Frankly, I’m five years too late to this review… You mention an estimated 125-200k residents have left since March and argue that’s not much in a city of 8mm. I always learn something. I’ll couple this criticism with Mr. Charles’s failure to include the dysfunction of the poor black family (paralleled with, but under-reported, the growing dysfunction in the non-black poor American family) as one of the 3 areas of focus if he held the “magic wand” for addressing root causes. Norway), and that the only way these countries (I.e. of Zappos, was an iconoclast and a dreamer. Each week, Freakonomics Radio tells you things you always thought you knew (but didn’t) and things you never thought you wanted to know (but do) — from the economics of sleep to how to become great at just about anything. Next week's is a rerun of an early show called Women Are Not Men. Dan Schreiber, James Harkin, Anna Ptaszynski and Andrew Hunter Murray ? Everything they cover is interesting. The really ace thing about Freakonomics is that there are so many episodes to choose from, episodes that unpick gossip, violence, exercise – all from an economic perspective. Another very successful podcast is Freakonomics, a US public radio broadcast. with 7 million packages per month; in addition it airs … Typical in the era of Trump, this podcast also suffers from TDS. I hope that the new line podcast by the sociologist was unusually laced with what I would call partisan politics- I hold Freakonomics as a thought provoking, smart, academic show. Our latest Freakonomics Radio episode is called “Are We in a Mattress-Store Bubble?.” (You can subscribe to the podcast at iTunes or elsewhere, get the RSS feed, or listen via the media player above.). The latest Freakonomics Radio podcast is called “Do More Expensive Wines Taste ... and Reds for those honoring appellations). I’ve been listening to Freakonomics for over 5 years and counting. I was a bit surprised by how big QI is now, but being a clever-clogs is clearly something to which we all aspire. I’ve dropped the subscription. See all summaries and reviews from Freakonomics at a glance. But once he’s in the realm of global economics and politics the conversations are ahistorical and way too much of a state department propaganda narrative to be taken seriously. Your world view is showing in your work and you have done a great job bringing in experts to support your beliefs. Stephen is a fantastic interviewer, his podcasts are always topical and he makes economic concepts understandable and fascinating for all. Tons of great subjects interwoven with economic principles. Mentions Venezuela’s poor economy, NOT the American sanctions and says it’s because of “socialism” ??? This is a huge oversight that does a disservice to the kind of content it purports to represent. See all reviews for Freakonomics Radio too. Av Freakonomics Radio + Stitcher upptäckt av Player FM och Player FMs grupp - upphovsrättigheterna ägs av publiceraren, inte Player FM. The entire archive, going back to 2010, is available on the Stitcher podcast app and at freakonomics.com. Reviews: -Resources + See More U.S. & International Retailers. The entire archive, going back to 2010, is available on the Stitcher podcast app and at freakonomics.com. Discover the hidden side of everything with Stephen J. Dubner, co-author of the Freakonomics books. Podcast review – Freakonomics. Freakonomics book. Fan reviews of the Freakonomics Radio podcast. This is not to say that obstacles exist and that some obstacles are unfair to one group or individual versus another. Feels very unfocused and lacks any sort of core topic or thesis. The New York Times best-selling Freakonomics changed the way we see the world, exposing the hidden side of just about everything. Freakonomics Radio, a podcast produced by WNYC Studios, explores the “hidden side of everything.”Inspired by the book, Freakonomics: A Rogue Economics Explores the Hidden Side of Everything, written in 2005 by economist Steven D. Levitt and journalist, Stephen J. Dubner, it touches on a range of topics from crime to gender to sports to politics. The host and expert guests offer insightful advice and information that is helpful to anyone that listens! The entire archive, going back to 2010, is available on the Stitcher podcast app and at freakonomics.com. I used to really love Freakonomics. Informative, entertaining and down to earth. Highly recommended. He does not seem to understand th ⭐️⭐️⭐️ fomer's Review of Freakonomics Radio on Saturday, 10th Jun 2017 21:19 Freakonomics, 2019. In this show, they made some good points about Venezuela and its failures. Freakonomics Radio Stitcher Documentary 4.6 • 2.7K Ratings; Listen on Apple Podcasts. Freakonomic RZ is podcast player designed for audiences of Freakonomics radio and friends. I am a huge fan of podcasts* – I download them directly onto my mobile phone and listen as I travel around. Customer Reviews See All. Informative and entertaining. I do not love political persuasion pieces. Freakonomics is an interesting look at a wide variety of phenomenon, using the statistical analysis of economics to prove or disprove the conventional wisdom. You all like it too: it has been a massive success on iTunes already. of Chicago) and Dubner (Confessions of a Hero Worshiper, 2003, etc. I so much want to “5-Star” this interview. Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything is the debut non-fiction book by University of Chicago economist Steven Levitt and New York Times journalist Stephen J. Dubner.Published on April 12, 2005, by William Morrow, the book has been described as melding pop culture with economics. Each week, Freakonomics Radio tells you things you always thought you knew (but didn’t) and things you never thought you wanted to know (but do) — from the economics of sleep to how to become great at just about anything. Levitt (Economics/Univ. Feb 23, 2008 Jim rated it did not like it. Won't delete from my feed no matter how many times I unsubscribe or delete. Sadly, last week's episode was not one of its best, being devoted to a single academic and his theory about humans' ability to predict how other people are feeling. Listen on Apple Podcasts. Presenter Stephen Dubner, who is clever and great, challenged the academic about what this test meant. Tuesday, 23 January 2018 New year, new podcast review! I mentioned it a couple of weeks ago, but then felt bad, because I … It’s clear to me now that Dubner is a neoliberal shill who enables and defends systemic racism and is honey for capitalism, while conveniently not acknowledging the damage capitalism has caused modern day society. Great pod. Read 16,408 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. Discover the hidden side of everything with Stephen J. Dubner, co-author of the Freakonomics books.Each week, Freakonomics Radio tells you things you always thought you knew (but didn’t) and things you never thought you wanted to know (but do) — from the economics of sleep to how to become great at just about … However, they never mentioned how the Venezuelan opposition and the US did their best to destabilize Venezuela under Chavez. The sociologist seems plenty smart, and I look forward to see where the he and the show go. With Stephen Dubner and , 486 episodes, 92 ratings & reviews.Discover the hidden side of everything with Stephen J. Dubner, co-author of the Freakonomics books. About. Episodes. I have listened for months past knowing your bias, I did not dismiss you. Super Freakonomics begins by laying down two simple premises. Stephen, host of the Freakonomics Radio podcast, highlights all aspects of economics and more in this can’t miss podcast! Now, with Think Like a Freak, Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner have written their most revolutionary book yet.With their trademark blend of captivating storytelling and unconventional … Can not stand that breathy accent! QI's writers ? In this pilot episode of a new podcast, Venkatesh interviews the progressive political operative Tara McGowan about her digital successes with the Obama campaign, her noisy failure with the Iowa caucus app, and why the best way for Democrats to win more elections was to copy the Republicans. And I hope that Reed Hastings doesn’t sprain his neck patting himself on the back! I started drifting into it about a year ago by listening to Stephen Dubner's short segment in NPR's Market Place, and got completely plunged into it after deciding to start listening to the Freakonomics Podcast. Truly enjoyed his interviewing style, as well as his background of ethnography + tech industry. Customer Reviews See All. Anyway, the podcast is jolly, packed with impressive and silly facts, and so far hasn't descended into too much in-joke chumminess, so hooray for No Such Thing As a Fish. Why do I sense that both feared backlash from the “cancel” culture had the interview juxtaposed Charles’s beautiful and poignant tribute to his parents and the role they played in his success with the disturbing and unfortunate absence of such influences for a large swath of black children born into a world without this incomparable advantage? Hsieh died recently from injuries sustained in a house fire; he was 46. Any link to economics is clearly gone at this point. Special, Freakonomics Radio is an American public radio program which discusses socioeconomic issues for a general audience. Hsieh died recently from injuries sustained in a house fire; he was 46.

I know that Maria Konakova is a Russian immigrant from New York but the voice is whispery and reminds me of a Connecticut socialite trying to up-sell a trend. Thank god for podcasts that report non-bias ideas like Joe Rogan. Freakonomic RZ is podcast player designed for audiences of Freakonomics radio and friends. This was my first time listening to this episode. 17489 people. This was an interesting book. Each week, Freakonomics Radio tells you things you always thought you knew (but didn’t) and things you never thought you wanted to know (but do) — from the economics of sleep to how to become great at just about anything. Always interesting- less biased than most. (Actually, all of the four featured elves speak in a different way, which is useful. A QI podcast spin-off affords Stephen Fry's little helpers the chance to really shine. of Zappos, was an iconoclast and a dreamer. Jim Holt reviews books for The New Yorker and The New York Review of Books, among other publications. Discover the hidden side of everything with Stephen J. Dubner, co-author of the Freakonomics books. There's a really brilliant section called Encyclopaedia, packed with interesting snippets of information (such as: the Aymara speakers of the Andes consider the past to be in front of them, the future behind them). Freakonomics Radio podcast on demand - Discover the hidden side of everything with Stephen J. Dubner, co-author of the Freakonomics books. Freakonomics Podcast. If the address matches an existing account you will receive an email with instructions to retrieve your username Each week, Freakonomics Radio tells you things you always thought you knew (but didn’t) and things you never thought you wanted to know (but do) — from the economics of sleep to how to become great at just about anything. Listen to 34 episodes of Freakonomics Radio on Podbay - the best podcast player on the web. I'm sure they'll be great, though I liked the straightforwardness of the second broadcast. Shelves: economics, candy. Dubner is exceptional in adapting to totally different topics, and subjectively portraying it with experts. Promote. Maybe you are living in such a vacuum that you truly believe that the only correct thought is liberal thought. And as for Adam and Joe… I don't think I've ever guessed right.). Discover the hidden side of everything with Stephen J. Dubner, co-author of the Freakonomics books. Leave your own rating or review and add tags to help others find it. I love great information. Author Stephen J. Dubner . Top pick for my daily commute. The first chapter's main message is about incentives. No Such Thing As a Fish is a new podcast – barely three weeks old – that is part of the ever-expanding QI empire. That stops now. Very disappointing. Wow wow wow - what would we do without your voices. Podcasts- News - Directory - Reviews. Gtf real. As a young aspiring economist and business leader, this podcast provides an array of topics and amazing research complied in the coolest of ways. If you go to the QI website, the podcast isn't even up yet, but the rest is: the TV show, the books, the live events, the news from a QI slant. Way too many rebroadcasts, it’s like every other week at this point. Freakonomics Radio Stephen J. Dubner. Love this for my long daily commute. Excellent podcast, easily a top 3 for me and highly recommended to everyone. A long downhill slide from the greatness of Freakonomics. But on the evidence of "Freakonomics," the presumption is earned. 8. … Discover the hidden side of everything with Stephen J. Dubner, co-author of the Freakonomics books. The domestic episodes are great minus the Koch BS. “I hope that the new line podcast by the sociologist was unusually laced with what I would call partisan politics- I hold Freakonomics as a thought provoking, smart, academic show. Reviews written a time that is long the reviewer visits the restaurant are likewise lenient. I love womping at the beginning of every episode. I am a huge fan of both the approach and the content of this podcast. Frankly, I’m five years too late to this review, I have been listening as long as I can remember. Discover the hidden side of everything with Stephen J. Dubner, co-author of the Freakonomics books.

Tony Hsieh, the longtime C.E.O. Annoying! Very biased, stay fair you would have done better. Interesting, no? ... it would sound like Bill Simmons Podcast. What was once a very interesting and good podcast is obviously funded npr and Biden agenda. Anyway, the podcast. In Reviews by Web Admin Oct 31, 2014.

The roots of that being linked to your job... Just listened to their Cold War supermarket episode and heard some rather silly criticisms about farm subsidies amongst other things helping the west to out compete the Soviets. This is the best interview I have heard from a business person in years. I am a huge fan of both the approach and the content of this podcast. ... Freakonomics … This podcasts contains a few interesting topics and is a pleasure to listen to when the topic is generic (non- political). I used to really enjoy Freakonomics, but I have noticed that they seem unwilling to name huge problems like racism and politics that affect economics. Thoroughly enjoy the podcast. I know you won’t care about my opinion because I’m a Republican. as the saying those those that can teach ecnomics. If you like to consider new perspectives or consider fresh ideas and takes on things that you either “thought” you knew about - or didn’t even know you wanted to know about - this is the podcast for you. Based on the best-selling book series, the fascinating Freakonomics podcast goes in-depth on various topics using purely empirical, number-driven evidence to uncover how the world really works. Informative and interesting. i Podcast TM. Popular reviews More. Although this might be me: I still find it hard to tell the difference between Scott Mills and Chris Stark, his sidekick. We … Just know, we see you. Each week, Freakonomics Radio tells you things you always thought you knew (but didn’t) and things you never thought you wanted to know (but do) — from the economics of sleep to how to become great at just about anything. of G.M., is trying to fix that. Always informative, thoughtful, and funny. Not because I deserve it but because that’s how closed minded the world has become. I couldn’t listen for more than a couple minutes. Thanks Freakonomics for the incredible work you do, truly positive contributions to humanity and thank you for informing humanity in so many formats, in particular, this podcast. Charts. FREAKONOMICS is the highly anticipated film version of the phenomenally bestselling book about incentives-based thinking by Steven Levitt and Stephen Dubner. “ A long-time listener of Freakonomics I am a big fan. G.M. Apparently, in the 1970s, US women reported significantly higher levels of happiness than men. Why Are Cities (Still) So Expensive? I have a generally low opinion of Levitt and his theories. Ratings. I love this book because it puts facts and proof up against theories and feel-good answers. It’s purely about social justice now. I used to listen to the Freakonomics podcast semi-regularly and remember enjoying it quite a bit more than this. Too bad. Podcast. The key attraction is that I get to … A Nutshell Review: Freakonomics DICK STEEL 29 January 2011 Based upon the bestselling book written by steven Levitt and Stephen Dubner, Freakonomics the film is an omnibus of shorts, where different filmmakers adapt a segment of the book for their respective sections, and then putting them all together into a feature length documentary. Always informative in a fun way! But help is on the way: From a … Freakonomics presenter Stephen Dubner: 'clever and great'. … Discover the hidden side of everything with Stephen J. Dubner, co-author of the Freakonomics books. With respect, Steve Szymczak. Episode 850: The Fake Review Hunter : Planet Money Fake product reviews are wrecking the internet. You’ve seen them — everywhere! Looks like some people just prefer to willfully turn a blind, ignorant eye and will stick to their partisan sides even as we all go down in the titanic. This used to be my absolute favorite podcast but lately the quality has taken a nosedive.

Dondakaya Recipes In Telugu, Darksteel Forge Foil, Is Electrical Engineering Good, Long Term Rent Formentera, Where To Buy Alo Drink In Canada, Cheez-it White Cheddar Nutrition, Cinnamon Pied Cockatiel Male Female, Swimming Ponds Near Me, Milwaukee Weather May 2020,